Somalia: the former Al-shabab deputy leader is Appointed as minister of religion

Published: August 2, 2022
The former deputy leader of Al Shabaab Mukhtar Robow
From right to left: Mokhtar Robow Abu Mansor, President of Somalia, Hassan Sheikh, prime minister Hamsa Abdi

The Prime Minister of the Federal Government of Somalia Mr. Hamse Abdi Barre today announced his cabinet, and the appointed ministers include Mukhtar Robow who was one of the founders of the Al Shabab group.

This council consists of 25 ministers, 25 deputy ministers and 24 state ministers and deputy Prime Minister.

The former deputy leader of Al Shabaab Mukhtar Robow

The former deputy leader of Al Shabaab Mukhtar Robow has been appointed as the Minister of Religious Affairs.

Mukhtar Robow Ali, also known as Abu Mansur and who once had a $5 million US bounty on his head, is a former deputy leader of al-Shabaab, which has been waging an insurgency in the Horn of Africa nation for decades. He defected from the group in 2013 after a long-running dispute with its leader.

The cabinet includes 14 MPs, most of whom are members of the Lower House.

  1. Salah Ahmed Jama – Deputy Prime Minister
  2. Sh. Mukhtar Robow Ali Abu Mansoor – Minister of Religious Affairs
  3. Hassan Maalim Mohamud – Minister of Justice and Constitution
  4. Abdullahi Ahmed Jama (Ilkajir) – Minister of Ports and Maritime Transport
  5. Mohamed Ahmed Sheikh Ali – Minister of Internal Security
  6. Ahmed Macalim Fiqi – Federal Minister of Interior and Reconciliation
  7. Jama Hassan Khalif – Minister of Posts & Communications
  8. Dr. Alimi Mohamud Noor – Minister of Finance
  9. Abdulkadir Mohamed Noor – Minister of Defense
  10. Abshir Omar Huruuse – Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation
  11. Farah Sheikh Abdulqadir – Minister of Education and Higher Education
  12. Bihi Iman Deputy – Minister of Labor and Employment
  13. Ferdowso Osman Igaal – Minister of Air and Land Transport
  14. Mohamud Abdurahman Sheikh (Beene Beene) – Minister of Planning and International Investment
  15. Abdirasaq Mohamed Omar – Minister of Petroleum & Mining
  16. Ahmed Hassan Adam – Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources
  17. Ali Haji Adam – Minister of Health and Social Welfare
  18. Ismail Abdirahman Sh. Bashir – Minister of Public Works and Housing
  19. Jamaat Takal Abbas – Minister of Energy and Water
  20. Mohamed Barre Mohamud – Minister of Youth and Sports
  21. Ahmed Madobe Nunow – Minister of Agriculture
  22. Jibril Abdirashid Haji – Minister of the Ministry of Trade and Industry
  23. Hassan Hussein Mohamed (Elaay) – Minister of Nursery and pastures
  24. Daoud Aweys Jama – Minister of Information
  25. Khadija Maqzoumi – Minister of Environment and Climate Change
  26. Khadija Mohamed Diriye – Minister of Women and Human Rights

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *