Somalia’s Prime Minister Sharmarke receives overwhelming support by Somali Parliament

Published: December 24, 2014
Omar Abdirashid Sharmarke
Prime Minister of Somalia Omar Abdirashid Ali Sharmarke

The Federal Parliament of Somalia today approved the appointment of Omar Abdirashid Ali Sharmarke as the next Prime Minister of the Federal Government of Somalia. The overwhelming vote of confidence was delivered at a session of the House of the People.

Addressing the Members of Parliament and other guests, Prime Minister Sharmarke thanked President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud for the appointment and reiterated his commitment to deliver on the promise of stability and prosperity for the Somali people.

“We have important tasks ahead of us that must be achieved at all costs. This includes achieving Vision 2016, ensuring the security of our citizens, economic growth and above all, national reconciliation,” said Prime Minister Sharmarke in his inaugural speech.

The Prime Minister also promised to nominate a well-qualified and representative cabinet tasked with delivering on key policies and work together with the Federal Parliament to ensure key legislation was passed in time.

While thanking the country’s security forces for their gallant efforts to secure the country, he reiterated that the work of pacifying the country would not stop until the last inch of territory was liberated from extremist elements.

In addition, Prime Minister Sharmarke also thanked international partners for their unwavering commitment to Somalia and promised continued co-operation with all stakeholders in achieving the administration’s key goals.

“Ultimately, we are accountable to each and every Somali. My administration’s bottom line will be to ensure that every Somali has the opportunity to live a life free from fear, take advantage of the opportunities this great country has to offer and play their role in moving this country forward,” concluded Prime Minister Sharmarke.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *