India, Somalia remain in Pakistan’s ‘B’ visa category

Published: March 14, 2019

Pakistan has removed Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nigeria, and Palestine from B-list countries in line with its new visa regime, whereas India and Somalia remain on the list.

The list had earlier comprised six countries.

Other than this, Israel, Armenia, and Taiwan are not on any list as Pakistan does not recognise them as sovereign nations. While Afghanistan also fails to make it any list, happening since 2006.

Pakistan has also added 28 more countries in the business visa list (BVL) after the commerce ministry had proposed to increase the list from 68 to 96 countries.

Pakistan has kept those countries in the visa list to whom exports exceed 10 million dollars. The countries include Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belgium, Benin, Brazil, Chile and others.

As per the existing visa policy, the government can issue ‘five-year multiple double entry visa(s)’ to foreigners wishing to visit the country for business or leisure.

The businessmen must possess a recommendation letter from their respective chambers of commerce and industry and an invitation letter from the business organisations duly recommended by the concerned trade organisations.

The Pakistan missions abroad are authorised to grant ‘3-month tourist visa(s)’ and for this, the government has included 24 countries.

Similarly, the ministry of foreign affairs can issue gratis visa/accreditation card for the tenure of the diplomatic assignment under the diplomatic visa category, but only authorised slots would be granted diplomatic visa and for additional slots, security clearance shall be mandatory.

Under the family visa category, the embassy is authorized to issue the ‘five year validity and one year stay multiple entry visa’ for foreigners of Pakistani origin and their foreign family members which shall be processed within seven to ten working days.

Furthermore, 2-year study visas shall be granted to foreign students, this is partially done in order to facilitate the 3000 Afghani students who are to be granted scholarships by the Higher Education Commission (HEC) for their capacity building.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *