SOMALIA: Puntland elects new President

Published: January 8, 2019

Saed Abdullahi Deni has been elected to serve as president of Puntland for the next five years; Deni is a former Federal minister of Planning.

The 66 newly sworn in Lawmakers casted their vote in three rounds, most of the 21 Presidential candidates were not able to get enough votes in the first round, including the incumbent Abdiweli Gaas, he only received 8 votes.

In the last round of the vote, Deni received 35 votes followed by Asad Osman Abdullahi, the former Puntland intelligence chief , he got 31 votes.

Horseed Media

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *